Help needed to decide IF I should buy a lathe

Status
Not open for further replies.

joec

joe
User
I have a full shop, other than a lathe. I love owning tools and have some tools (benchtop mortiser) that I seldom use, but like having if I need. I am now building my 3rd Maloof rocker and I have had a friend turn the front two legs on the first two. Decision time for me. I could buy a lathe (thinking the Jet Midi) and then see where it takes me going forward. Just wondering how many guys buy a lathe and it just sets there? I have seldom had a need for a lathe, but wonder if I would do other projects if I had one. Thanks.

Raymond

Raymond
Staff member
Corporate Member
I have been turning for the past 15 years. Buying a lathe is just the beginning of the purchases. You will also need lathe tools (gouges) at least a starter set; sharpening wheel, eye/face protection, respirator to protect your lungs (fine dust) as a minimum just to get started.

I say you sign up for the Goodwill Lathe - give it a try then make the decision. Turning is not for everyone but it is sure a fun and slippery slope to be on!

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
If a tool is small, doesn't cost too much, and can be used for more than one thing then I will buy one the first time I need to use it.

If it cost more than $50, takes up floor space, and only does one thing (such as a mortiser) then I wait till I need it again or the need exceeds my reservations or I may not ever buy one if I can find other ways to get the job done.

A lathe is one of those essential multipurpose tools that i never knew I could not get along without until I had a good one.

If you see the need then be sure to get one;

1. BIG enough
2. variable speed
3. fully tooled (chuck, drill chuck for tailstock, different sizes and shapes of tool rests)
4. sharpening equipment
5. adequate dust collection

And don't forget training, you may do fine without but good training will speed you along in gaining skills and technique.