Harvey Alpha HW110S-36P 4hp Cabinet Saw

spartyon8

Peter
User
I know that Harvey is somewhat of an "unknown" brand that we don't see or read much of. They have also been getting more buzz on the web lately with people interested. Well, a week before Christmas I took the plunge and wanted to let some of you know what I think about the saw so far.

A little background information:
I had a Ridgid R4512 that worked well for me but was seriously under powered for my needs. I was tired of the fence and put on a Delta T3/4 which was a phenomenal upgrade. Shortly after the new fence, the saw began making noises. I was told possibly bearing (even though it didn't sound like one). While it was still cutting the same and working like it should, minus the noise, I decided to sell it and purchase a new saw that would be my last. I am a hobbyist woodworker and make lots of cutting boards and such but want to start making cabinets and tables. Money is a deciding factor which is why I chose to not continue saving for a Sawstop. Enter the Harvey Alpha...

Harvey Alpah HW110S-36P

I purchase the Harvey Alpha saw for $2,100 the week before Christmas with a zero clearance insert, miter gauge (included) and mobile base. It shipped partially (still waiting on the zero clearance insert) 2 days before Christmas and made its way across country in under 2 weeks. The transit company used was kind enough to unload and bring it up my driveway to the garage door where I assembled it. Everything was packaged together in a very clean and organized way onto 1 pallet.

Mobile Base