Hand plane sharpening and set-up

tvrgeek

Scott
Corporate Member
I was taught by a master tool and die maker how to do it freehand. I still can, but a guide and paper on glass is what I do now.
I have a WorkSHop and a Mikata, but still do most by hand.

By biggest problem is quality of paper.

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
Interesting timing on your post Hank. I just was trying my hand at some of this this afternoon. Thanks for the video, there were bits in there that I had no idea about - so quite helpful (and I am a real plane novice).

I have inherited a few planes from my Dad, the longer of which I had not used until two days ago. When I looked at the edge I noted that it was quite badly nicked. I managed to use it for what I needed it for, but resolved to work on it to properly sharpen and set it.

In disassembly, I noticed that the screw holding the double blade together was missing on this plane. How does one go about acquiring such a screw? The screw from my other bench plane did fit these threads, so I 'know' what I need.

I know a pic would help - just not there right now. Are these parts common and available, or hard to find?

Hmerkle

Board of Directors, Development Director
Hank
Staff member
Corporate Member
By biggest problem is quality of paper.
Solution: Bargain bin at Klingspor or 10# or 20# Bargain box of abrasive... spray adhesive to your glass or granite and you are in business!

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
Excellent - thanks Matt.
Of course it would help if I actually knew the brand of plane(s) I own; they are all the same style as in the FWW video, with 2" wide blades. Despite my long time hobby, I'm so new to these (or actually to writing anything about these) that I am uncertain of all the proper terms. Thanks for helping with terminology too.

Hmerkle

Hank
Staff member
Corporate Member
Excellent - thanks Matt.