Greetings from Raleigh

Status
Not open for further replies.

Volksdad

New User
Glen
Hi everyone! I'm a hobbyist who's setting up a small shed shop to get back into woodworking. I like to build things that have a purpose, though i occasionally build things in wood "just because". I am currently working a bandsaw (thread under power tools forum) and i'm gonna get to my jointer right after.

I was born in Brooklyn, NY, and raised upstate in Albany. I learned to use my first shop machines watching my father and uncle renovate the homes we lived in. I moved back to Brooklyn to go to school, and had the pleasure of taking a sculpture class with Toshio Odate. I can't say that I absorbed his skill, but I will say that he shared a love for woodworking, a fondness for green tea, and a belief in hand tools. (I still am in awe of the effortless shavings he produced from a block plane.

I moved to the NC area in 2003, and currently work for Wurth USA, but in the Automotive division, not the wood one.

I would like to design and build furniture, get better at carving and reacquaint myself with power and hand tools.

I look forward to getting to know you all!

Glen

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
Welcome to NC and to NCWW from another former New Yorker. I grew up in the Poughkeespie area

scsmith42

New User
Scott Smith
Welcome Glen! Lots of displaced Yankee's here, so you should fit right in!

I didn't know that Wurth had an automotive division; what do y'all make?

Scott

Volksdad

New User
Glen
Welcome Glen! Lots of displaced Yankee's here, so you should fit right in!

I didn't know that Wurth had an automotive division; what do y'all make?

Scott