Good Morning from the coast

Status
Not open for further replies.

hforr

New User
Howard
Good morning;
This is my first post here at NC woodworking. I'll tell you a bit about who I am
My name is Howard Orr, I am 61 years old, and have been enjoying retirement for 13 years. I spent 4 years in the USMC back in the mid 60s, and shortly after getting my discharge I entered the Pa. State Police. I was able to retire with full benifits at age 47. 9 years ago my wife and I started spending the winters at Topsail Beach, and 3 years ago finally got 2 1/2 acres here in Holly Ridge. I built my "Dream Shop" behind our house, and now spend 9 months here, and 3 in the woods of Pennsylvania, in a camper trailer. I have been doing woodworking for many years. I spent last year making pens, and wine bottle stoppers, and have now moved on to scroll saw, and intarsia projects. I have found that most people are not willing to pay what a project is worth, so I have stopped trying to sell my items, and am happy to give them as gifts.

scsmith42

New User
Scott Smith
Howard, welcome to the best woodworking forum in NC! I don't know if you realize it or not, but there's a great sawmill owned by one of our members right down the road from you in Burgaw.

When you have a minute, check out some of the posts by Ivey here on the forum and you'll see what I mean.

A word of caution... this group will hound you for photo's of your projects, so I hope that you've got a digital camera! :lol:

Scott

hforr

New User
Howard
Well glory BE;

Just in my first post with NC woodworking I get some useful information. I have been trying for several years to find a sawmill over here on the coast with little or no luck. Can you give me some details on who has it, and what his username is? I brought back some wormy chestnut barn beams from Pa this summer, and was looking for someone to resaw them., I have since chunked a couple of pieces off the end, but EVERYONE needs a good sawyer now and then.

woodArtz