Finishing a reclaimed pine farm table

Status
Not open for further replies.

mlotterhos

New User
Mike
Good morning,

I am relatively new to woodworking and am close to completing my first large project, a reclaimed pine farm table. My wife and I purchased the reclaimed pine in very rough shape and milled it down for the table top. Even after planing and jointing the wood has a very antique look with lots of small cracks and termite tracks. Below are picture of the top just before and during glue up.

_IGP4632.jpg

_IGP4596-1.jpg

We are trying to figure out the best way to finish the table. I want to preserve the character of the wood and I'd like to bring out some of the orange and golden tones of the pine. After all the hard work so far I don't want to ruin it at the last step! Any advice is appreciated....and please don't assume I know anything. What you guys do step by step? Thanks a bunch!

Mike L.
Raleigh, NC

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
Welcome Mike. Looks like some very nice pine! Howard Acheson recently posted some very good advice on how to refinish an old table, I suggest you start with that. Obviously, you can skip the cleaning/ stripping part. And feel free to ask more questions about each individual step, nothing is easy until you know how.

Bryan S

Bryan
Mike there are many here more knowledgeable on finishing than I am, but first, consider what you plan on using the table for. If it is just to look at (which I doubt) then an oil and wax will give you what you want. If you plan on actually using the table ( which is my guess) then you will need a more protective finish like Waterlox Original. You can thin it 50/50 with mineral spirits to make a wipe on varnish, and trust me that is about as fool proof as you can get.

Let me suggest picking up a copy of Bob Flexner's Understanding Wood Finishing, it is well written and easy to understand. Here's links to some old threads that explain pretty well about oils.