Earlex hvlp 5500

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhreed

New User
james
I am considering purchasing the Earlex 5500. Does anyone have one? Can I spray Sherwin Williams latex Super Paint with it?

Jeff

New User
Jeff
James,

I have one, but not a lot of experience with it. The 1.4-1.5 mm nozzles are good for spraying lower viscosity finishes like varnishes, stains, dyes, etc. It's worked great for me in that capacity, but it takes some practice to get the flow and patterns dialed in. Cardboard refrigerator boxes work great for practice on the right set up.

For latex paint, with its higher viscosity, I think that they recommend a 2-2.5 mm nozzle.

http://www.earlex.com/hv5500.php

You'll have to do some homework on that application.

JimD

Jim
Senior User
I have no knowledge of the Earlex but I think you are getting somewhat close in price to my Fuji Mini-mite 3. I really like my Fuji. I wish I had purchased it first.

Jim

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
I am considering purchasing the Earlex 5500. Does anyone have one? Can I spray Sherwin Williams latex Super Paint with it?
I have tried spraying SW Pro Classic with it. Not sure if that's the same as Super Paint, Pro Classic is a water-based (water-borne) paint, 100% acrylic, so not really latex, but all water-based paints appear be called latex. I used the 2mm needle. It did not spray well, I had to thin it significantly with water and flotrol for it to work. Gloss paint turns flat when you do that, and runs easily. I also had to lay it down fairly thick to avoid the orange peel effect. Perhaps the 2.5mm needle would do better, but I didn't feel like spending $50 to try it. Note that I am a novice when it comes to spraying. Mark Spagunolo (the wood whisperer) did a review of the Earlex and claimed he was able to spray paint with it.

MIKE NOAH

New User
Mike