Does this sound reasonable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mt. Gomer

New User
Travis
A while back I posted about getting some planer and joiner knives sharpened. Thanks to responses here I got information on a few services that have pickups in Durham. I went with one that had a pickup in a location near me, however I'll admit, I didn't do much homework in terms of costs.

I have no experience in this type of service so I'm don't really know if what I was charged was reasonable (though, when I paid the bill, I was surprised) The point of the post is to figure out 1) was the cost reasonable, 2) if not, what should I do about it?

I dropped off 4 12" planer knives and 3 6" joiner knives, the bill with tax was $104. I called the company who did the sharpening, for stuff brought directly to them they chard $1/in which would have been $66. I also called the location that that was the dropoff/pickup point, they said they add 25% to the invoice for the service (much to their credit they said if I was unhappy, they'd make it right) so there was an additional fee for the transportation.

For the record, I have no problem paying a fair price for a service. I just need to know if this was fair. I don't have the experience or knowlege to know.

Thanks,

Travis

mxracer

New User
Dan
Travis,

SORRY, read that wrong. I read $1 per inch. So as stated below $1 per FOOT sounds like a great deal.

Can't speak to the service fee for the transport as I am close enough to run mine to the sharpener, but I will tell you that $1 per foot is double what I pay over here in Hickory for the sharpening service. I have a 20" planer and the 4 blades only cost me $40 to get sharpened.

Dan

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
Watch those service charges. They will eat you up especially if they add on a % instead of a flat fee. Where the blades sharpened to your satisfaction? If so make sure you do your homework next time. Closer is not alway cheaper.

Travis Porter

Travis