Custom Chess boards project

Status
Not open for further replies.

pcooper

Phillip Cooper
Corporate Member
It's been a long while since I posted any projects, so I figured these would be a nice re-entry. I was asked to make some custom chess boards, and I could use my own design ideas...pretty open to me for what I like. I've got three posted in my gallery with several more pictures, but will show some here. I have playing pieces with the boards, but not they are not handmade, I'm not very good at making the pieces yet. The boards are coated in lacquer, the tops have a dozen coats, and hand rubbed to a very slick finish. I'd researched how to do hand rubbing and everyone seems to have different ideas there. I tried micro-mesh sheets wet with the soft pad backer for the initial sanding, then the finer grits wet using just my hand as a backer. I did one board in Birdseye maple with cherry, another with mahogany and maple, and the last with Peruvian walnut and maple. All boards have hidden drawers in the base for storage of the playing pieces. These boards are about 16 to 18 inches square.

DSCN9266.JPG

DSCN9268.JPG

DSCN9271.JPG

DSCN9286.JPG

DSCN9287.JPG

DSCN9289.JPG

DSCN9293.JPG

pcooper

Phillip Cooper
Corporate Member
Where did you get the chess pieces?

They came from a place online called "The Chess Store". They have some nice pieces that range from cheap to over-the-top expensive. I opted for cheaper pieces so I could have a chance at a decent price for the boards. One of these days I want to learn how to make my own someday, maybe I should hang around Chessspy a while huh?

CrealBilly

New User
Jeff
Sweet boards man - great work.

Q. Are the round corner inlays are to help keep the mitres together or decorative?

pcooper

Phillip Cooper
Corporate Member
Sweet boards man - great work.

Q. Are the round corner inlays are to help keep the mitres together or decorative?