Color matching Stain

Status
Not open for further replies.

woodydiver

New User
curt
Hello,
I built a book case out of select pine and hardwood plywood. It is my first attempt at a complete book case. it hasent turned out too bad.
Now i am trying to match the color to an existing bed frame. I believe the existing furniture was finished with a polyshade finish over pine.
I didnt want to use a polyshade, i thought using a oil based finish and then covering with a poly finish would look nicer.
i applied a pre stain conditioner to some sample pieces and have put up to 3 coats of oil based stain on the samples. Even after 3 coats the color still
seams pale.
How may coats of stain does it usually take to get to an even golden color on pine?
would water based stain be better?
Or should i just bite the bullet and use the poly shade?
any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks , curt

adowden

Amy
Corporate Member
Curt,

First I want to state that I am no finishing expert - the process kinda terrifies me. I have done alot of reading recently. Bob Flexner recommends using a gel stain on pine because it "doesn't penetrate as much, so it doesn't amplify the contrast as much." This helps with any blotchyness.

Also how much stain you have to apply depends alot on the brand and color. Minwax is a thinner stain compared to some others (except for their gel stains). Zar is much thicker and similar to a gel stain. Be sure to totally finish it (stain and poly before you compare it to your other piece). The poly can change the color quite dramatically.

As far as polyshades go, I would strongly advise against them. I used them one time on a red oak swordcase that my in-law wanted to look like cherry (but she was too cheep to pay for cherry) and was very disappointed. It was darker in the corners despite my best efforts. Since you are matching an existing piece, I think separate staining and then poly would be better. Good Luck!

Amy

woodydiver

New User
curt
thanks,