Classes and Cost: what's fair?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nn4jw

New User
Jim
Teaching / learning woodworking is an interesting dynamic. Traditionally the wide range of skills needed to be a well rounded woodworker, say journey or master level, has historically involved apprentising, at least before the majority of furniture building was industrialized. At the very least it has been on the job training. There are many people today offering topic specific short courses, typically less than 2 weeks down to half days mostly targeting the hobbiest. Many, if not most, hobbiest woodworkers are self taught with the occasional short course to fill in specific interests.

Some specialized businesses such as building organs still rely on apprentising. It's not like there are enough businesses doing that to support a dedicated school to train workers. That's also not really something you do for a hobby either.

I'd think that trying to actually earn a living teaching hobbiests almost anything is a tough row to hoe these days. Too much competition from free sources online lowers the perceived value. Those people with actual talent and aptitude for woodworking always seem to find a way to acquire the skills. (How did you acquire yours?) Those without the talent and aptitude probably cannot be taught anything significant and will blame the teacher for their failure to immediately master a given topic.

If I come across as cynical on this topic it's because having taught many computer technical short courses and seminars over a 40 year career I learned the sad truth, "Don't try to teach a pig how to sing. It can't be done and it annoys the pig." You learn to treasure the occasional student who "gets it".

RayH

New User
Ray