Cherry Color(s)

Wilsoncb

Williemakeit
Corporate Member
I'm making a little end table out of Cherry. I've never used Cherry before but from what I can see, it may come is multiple shades. I'm finding pieces with sap wood that are distinctly dark and light on the same board. Also finding various shades from mild red to light pink. Looking for helpful information on what to look for and/or how to deal with it.

Here's a pick to show what I'm talking about. (These are just some scraps I have for trinkets, I do not plan to use these). Headed out tomorrow to see if I can find some more consistent boards.
1681161734928.jpeg

drw

Donn
Corporate Member
Cherry does seem to come in a fairly broad color range. That said, I am sure you are already aware that it will darken over time, especially if exposed to direct sunlight.

mkepke

Mark
Senior User
If you want consistent color in your table, make as much of the table as you can from boards out of the same tree. If that's not possible, then make the major assemblies each from the same rough board, especially the top. Over time, boards from different trees can darken differently - even if they look similar now.

Or..color the wood (heresy I know).

-Mark

Tarhead

Mark
Corporate Member
Put the lighter boards out in the sun a few days to get them closer to the dark board if you want them to match. You definitely need to prevent/limit blotching. I spray multiple light coats of thin (~.5lb cut) shellac then apply color on top of it

JimD

Jim
Senior User