CA Glue advice

DavidK

New User
David
I have seen CA glue used on Youtube, but I have no experience with it, but I do have a lot of questions...

Beyond being really fast, does it have other advantages? What are its disadvantages? When should I NOT use it?

I see there are different thicknesses. What would you recommend for "having around the shop"? The accelerator comes in a spray can or a pump. Which do you prefer?

Thanks for your feedback,
David

Hmerkle

Board of Directors, Development Director
Hank
Staff member
Corporate Member
David,
GREAT question!
As usual you will hear the typical "It depends..."
Unfortunatly it depends on what you are doing
I liked this test by James Wright (
) but he obviously tests more than just CA glue.

The main disadvantage of CA is that it is not a gap filler and it typically is not flexible (you can buy a style of CA glue that is (somewhat) flexible...

There will be many who also like a brand, but most CA is the same product unless it was engineered for a specific function...
I keep a thin and medium and a gel on hand almost all the time.
I have used a mediium and added sawdust and filled a gap, but I prefer to use epoxy for that task, I just think it works better!
I have been happiest with the aerosol version of accelerator

I hope that helps?

FlyingRon

Ron
I agree with Hank. One of it's major problem is it's "brittle" (I.e. not flexible).
One thing to realize (though it may seem counterintuitive) that CA needs water to "dry".
My favorite form of CA is that it now gets sold in "single serving" tubes so you don't have to worry about trying to get the bottle open or it being dried out next time you go for it.

Charles Lent

Charley
Corporate Member