Best place to get small CNC Projects done?

danceswithwindows

danceswithwindows
Corporate Member
Hello all,

I'm a novice woodworker, working on a project to give as gift to my family overseas when I finally get to visit them this spring! I'm making a set of 5 coasters. They are made from hickory. They are 4.25" square. I am looking for some help finding a company (or an individual) that I could hire to do some lettering for me with a CNC machine on the 5 coasters. I am looking for just one letter per coaster, about 3.25 inches tall. The letters stand for the first initial of the folks who I will be giving the coasters to. Haven't settled on a typeface yet, but something pretty simple.

The coasters are about 10mm thick, so looking to have the CNC machine remove about 5mm of material. I will then fill the routed out letters with an epoxy and brass flake mix, then sand and finish.

Hoping you folks could help me with suggestions. I am in Raleigh.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Attachments

• IMG-1946.JPEG
    IMG-1946.JPEG
    2.1 MB · Views: 99
  • IMG-1947.JPEG
    IMG-1947.JPEG
    1.2 MB · Views: 97
  • IMG-1948.JPEG
    IMG-1948.JPEG
    1.9 MB · Views: 99

danceswithwindows

danceswithwindows
Corporate Member
Thanks for responding Ken,

The font I'm looking for is "Cooper Black". I think I'd like to scale back the size of the lettering to 3 inches max. Attached might help show what Id like to do. One of the coasters has a second, subscript "Q" beside it.

That make sense? If you are still up for helping, let me know if I can send them to you, or drop them off if you are local and prefer that. Also, let me know what I owe you.

Thanks again!

Sean

Attachments

• Fonts.pdf
    30.5 KB · Views: 98

kserdar

Ken
Senior User
The single letters are easy. The Eq needs some work.
Draw a 4.25" box around the Eq and you should be able to see the issue.
Eq.jpg

I had to size the "Q" down to 0.8" height - Looks very busy compared to E.

E.jpg