Best oil type finish for Shaving Brush handles?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Badabing

New User
Joe
I started to get a little bored just turning pens all the time. Someone asked me about shaving brushes with wooden handles and I was intrigued. After researching the idea and importing brush heads from China, here is what I came up with:

While I don't plan on finishing the Cocobolo ones (the wood is oily enough to protect it from water), I will need to do something with the other woods. Any advice is appreciated, but keep in mind that I do not want to put a built up finish like poly on them. I want to use a penetrating oil that will protect the wood and be easily renewed by the customer every so often. I'm thinking a Tung Oil blend would be good but I have no experience with this type of finish...:help:

DaveO

New User
DaveO
I would use a CA finish, but you're not looking for that type of finish. So I would recommend a Danish Oil or "Tung" Oil type finish. It won't give you a lot of build but will give better protection than a straight true oil finish. They are easy to apply just wipe on and wipe off, do that a dozen times.
Dave:)

gator

George
Corporate Member
After researching the idea and importing brush heads from China, :help:

Joe -

Would you mind sharing your source for the brush heads, or do you have to import them yourself in large quantities?

George

Makinsawdust

New User
Robert
Joe,
I like an oil & urethane mixture. I would suggest 2/3 BLO and 1/3 spar urethane mixed together and then wiped on. It will take 3-5 coats over a few days to give the best result. Tung oil is great but it takes quite a bit longer than BLO for the smell to go away.
Rob

PS: How's your big cherry project going?

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member
Brushes look great, Joe!!!:icon_thum

(I used one that my dad gave me as a teen, 1960 something, and used it right up to the mid 1980's:rolf:)