Best finish for kitchen gift handles

fjdog

New User
Roland
Hi fellow woodworkers, I turned a bunch of handles this year for to-be-gifted pizza cutters, ice cream scoopers and bottle stoppers. Now I need to put down a good quick finish on them. What is the recommended approach. Would like a relatively glossy finish that is fairly durable and would prefer it to be food safe (even though food probably will not come in direct contact so much). I like working with wipe-on finishes, but could chuck these up again and spray something out of a can. I do not have access to a HVLP sprayer. Thanks for your feedback!

fjdog

New User
Roland
Thanks! I've never tried that before, but sounds like a good approach. Any thoughts on spray lacquer? I've never used it before, but seems like it might be a good option based on YouTube vids.

fjdog

New User
Roland
Does the general finishes Hi Perf require a sealing under coat? Or will it stick to most woods. I used some exotic scraps (purple heart, leopard wood) in the handles and would hate for it to fail.

chris_goris

Chris
Senior User
Does the general finishes Hi Perf require a sealing under coat? Or will it stick to most woods. I used some exotic scraps (purple heart, leopard wood) in the handles and would hate for it to fail.
not sure about exotics, Ive used it over maple, oak, mahogany and cherry , check their website, TONS of valuable info there about their products. Oh, for what its worth, Ive even put this stuff in a windex bottle (diluted about 10%) and sprayed it flawlessly.

Last edited:

SabertoothBunny

SabertoothBunny
Corporate Member
Doctor's Woodshop Pens Plus