Bed finish suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

stal023

New User
Stal
I am going to make a bed out of black walnut and another wood that I haven't determined yet. Something that is contrasting, but not wildly contrasting. Maybe a white oak, cypress or maple. I am open to opinions on this.

I've never worked with much for hardwoods before and I am wondering your suggestions on finishing? I'd like to keep the woods as natural as possible. Thanks in advance.

bluedawg76

New User
Sam
maple is my usual choice for walnut. a very nice contrast and they behave well together. here's the headboard i made for my daughter's bed. finish was oil varnish (equal parts BLO, poly, MS). Walnut is buffed w/ dark paste wax, maple is clear (non-tinted) wax.

DSC02304.JPG

stal023

New User
Stal
Nice picture. What would be a wood not as light as the maple in your photo that might work well with walnut?

koslonc

New User
Jeff
I also like maple with walnut, but if you are looking for less contrast, cherry also works well with walnut.

JimD

Jim
Senior User
Finish on walnut needs to consider that sunlight will lighten or bleach it. Cherry, on the other hand, darkens with sunlight. If you have a piece mixing these two woods and you like the contrast, you should finish with an exterior UV blocking varnish or poly so you mininize the color change in both woods. I like to spray, especially on something large like a bed, but my other favorite finish is wipe on poly. I mix in about 1/3 mineral spirits with normal oil based poly and then wipe it on with folded up paper towels. It is very protective of the wood and it is easy. More coats are required to get the same film thickness as brushiing on poly but that's OK for me.

Bill Clemmons

Bill
Corporate Member
Maple and Walnut are excellent for a "strong" contrast. I've done a couple of pieces w/ Walnut and Cherry that I kinda like. I finish the Walnut w/ amber shellac, then an oil/varnish on the Cherry.

SubGuy

Administrator
Zach