15 inch planer help

Status
Not open for further replies.

simdave

New User
Dave
After 6 months of research I am convinced you cannot buy a quality well made 15 in planer that is easy to maintain, can be adjusted for no snipe, does not produce ridges, provides a finish that is equal to 120 grit sanding and doesn't require the same amount of time to hand carve a Chippendale chair as it does to change or adjust blades. It appears to me that most or all of these machines come from one or two Chiwan factories and that quality control is non-existent. Customer service from importers also appears to be poor at best.

It has crossed my mind that my expectations for what $3000 will buy are unrealistic and I'm just a whiner that has been overly influenced by bad internet reviews. Any recommendations/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm starting to lose it.

manfre

New User
Manfre
Grizzly's customer service reviews are consistenly very good. I have no experience with how long it takes to properly adjust their 15" planers or how long it would take to hand carve a chippendale chair, so I can't weigh in on that.

bob vaughan

Bob Vaughan
Senior User
Dave,
Take a deep breath and relax. The situation is only as bad as you want to make it.
You've got better cheap planers available to you now than you've ever had before. Those of us that bought our first "cheap" planer in the late 70's were stuck with $950.00 on sale from Sears. That $950.00 then has the same buying power as $2800.00 today. Just imagine what people had to deal with when the better small planers were considered such as a Powermatic model 100.