Search results

1. Bugle

Walking stick finish

My grandsons who live in Oregon want me to make them walking sticks. I found a nice eastern red cedar that has been dead for a year or so and I like it because of the color and weight. My question is about a finish. I want to make them as waterproof as possible since I know they will be using...
  2. Bugle

Bark Preservation

I was gifted a persimmon slab that is about 3 1/2 " thick and about 8 ' long. I plan on planing it down and making a mantle for my daughter. The bark has such character that I would like to preserve it if possible. I've never tried it before and would appreciate any suggestions. Here's what...
  3. Bugle

Grizzly spindle sander

This can't be legit. https://www.bvcder.com/product/blackfriday-grizzly-industrial-1-hp-oscillating-spindle-sander/
  4. Bugle

Stainable Exterior Wood Filler

My neighbor is installing some 6x6 treated posts for a customer. She wants to stain the posts and they have some large cracks that need to be filled. Is there a stainable exterior wood filler? Thanks in advance.
  5. Bugle

Sold a wood burning

Several years ago I did a small (8x10) burning of this picture that I took at Holden Beach. After showing it and other burnings to friends and family, they said that I should try to sell something. I've done houses, dogs, landscapes, fish, candle holders, turned bowls, portraits (which are...
  6. Bugle

Rainbow Carving

Haven't done any carving in a while (and I still consider myself a novice), but was inspired by doing some fly fishing in Boone (my youngest son and his wife have a cabin in Boone right on the New River...also on AirBnb). I used cutoffs from some 2x4's for the fish and the rocks. The fish is...
  7. Bugle

Coloring wood burnings

Decided to try my hand at adding color to a wood burning. I used water color pencils, but instead of water, I used rubbing alcohol to avoid raising the grain of the wood.
  8. Bugle

Trout Landing Net