Search results

1. TracyB

Toy Box plans

My grandsons 1st birthday is coming up and my daughter wants me to build him a toy box. Since I have limited woodworking knowledge and skill, I was wondering if anyone has built one or knows of any online plans. I saw a picture of one in the Rockler catalog that I like but there are no plans for...
  2. TracyB

red oak lumber

Does anyone know the best place to get some red oak lumber in the Hickory/ Lenoir area? I need good lumber at the lowest possible price. Work is slow and money is tight. I want to build a piece of furniture for my daughter that she designed herself. Its a kind of storage cabinet with drawers on...
  3. TracyB

outdoor finish

I built an outdoor table out of pressure treated pine. I was wondering what kind of finish to put on it to keep it looking good and prevent graying. I saw some General Finishes Outdoor oil at Klingspor. Does anyone know if theis is any good or should I use something else. Any thoughts or ideas...
  4. TracyB

Re-finish a baby crib

Hi everyone, My daughter is a mom-to-be for the first time and someone has given her a used baby crib that she wants me to refinish. I have never refinished anything in my life. The only finish I have ever applied is minwax stain and polyurethane. There are a couple deep gouges in the crib plus...
  5. TracyB

Gonna be a Grandpa!

Hey everyone, Hope Santa was good to you all! The good Lord has blessed me with a grandchild to be born in April. Looks like I need to get busy. I was thinking about building a crib, changing table, cradle, maybe a rocking horse, etc. If anyone has any ideas on plans for baby items, I would...
  6. TracyB

Dovetail Jigs??

I have never cut a dovetail in my life. I was thinking about getting a DT jig for just in case I ever want to. Problem is I know nothing about them. Some reviews I have read say not to get plastic templates(like Rockler) because they flex too much. I don't want to put a ton of money in one...
  7. TracyB