Search results

1. Boomer76

New Member From Davidson/Mooresville area

Welcome to the forum. I'm just down the street in huntersville. I'm not a pro by any means and just started to hone my craft a couple yrs ago. I'm also in my 40's, never to late to learn.
  2. Boomer76

My first segmented turning

Thank you Ray. I think next time I will also flatten the top of the ring before adding another. Fred, I tried to ride the bevel dropping the handle until it cut. I'm also still very new at turning anything other than pens. Thanks Graywolf
  3. Boomer76

My first segmented turning

I turn pens and have made cups to hold pens and decided to try a segmented pen cup. I had a slight design flaw but otherwise I think it came out pretty well. I think I was turning it too slow because I got some chipping on the tail side of some segments. I was a little nervous about going full...
  4. Boomer76

Finished My 1st Dust Collection System

Great job. I may have to study and reference these pics many times. I've been toying with piping in a system instead of moving the shop vac hose from tool to tool as I am now. I use a dust deputy and 15 gallon fiber drum that is sufficient for my needs. My shop is my garage and still used as a...
  5. Boomer76

Simple Spice cabinet

Thanks y'all. I appreciate your compliments. I didn't use any fancy joinery or whatnot. I really concentrated on function versus furniture quality. Hopefully the Mrs will approve.
  6. Boomer76

Plywood banding clamping suggestions?

How about just using a bar clamp or other clamp and wedges like this. I can't imagine alot of clamping force is needed for edge banding.
  7. Boomer76

Simple Spice cabinet

Yes it is. Two of them.
  8. Boomer76

Simple Spice cabinet