Search results

1. J

Outdoor finish

Epifanes varnish is a good choice. Waterlox Marine finish is a possibility but I have no experience with it.
  2. J

Getting into Hand Tools

I found this tidbit about that cabinet. It was in the Lie-Nielsen Christmas catalog in 2002.
  3. J

How do I square this.

A diagonal strip holds the carcass square during glue up. It looks like you have the corner blocks already, but shouldn't they be diagonal to each other?
  4. J

kitchen island

Holdfasts. Gramercy makes some nice ones that work well. https://www.leevalley.com/en-ca/shop/tools/workshop/workbenches/benchtop-accessories/71363-gramercy-tools-holdfast
  5. J

Wood ID??

The Hardwood Store used to sell it but it's not listed on their website anymore. It's a good candidate whose properties are pretty close to what the OP has described. Take a look... http://www.hobbithouseinc.com/personal/woodpics/lyptus.htm
  6. J

Empty garage!

The garage electrical and lighting is already installed as I understand it. :oops:
  7. J

Wood ID??

The source of the wood may be a clue if you can get it from whoever gave it to you. Is it from a NC tree? Janka hardness River birch 970 White oak 1350 South American mahogany 900 I have some South American mahogany whose color is similar.
  8. J

kitchen island

He did a pretty good job recovering/fixing his mistakes.
  9. J

Hickory just out of the kiln

Bob, I'd like to come look at a few boards. PM me with your address and phone number. Thanks.
  10. J

Empty garage!

I can't see any of the electrical receptacles along the walls. How many are there on each wall? You have at least one ceiling receptacle that the garage door opener and light are connected too from what I can tell.
  11. J

Festool track saw

I like the cordless option but it's quite a bit more expensive. It comes with 2 batteries and 2 chargers and it can be run with both batteries simultaneously for maximum power (so it says).
  12. J

Festool track saw