Wood Recommendation Request

Rick_B

Rick
Corporate Member
Good morning folks - I have a poroject coming up to build a dining room hutch (bottom cabinet and upper shelves). The designer (LOML) wants it mostly painted so I'm looking for suggestions for a wood species to use that would be good for painting. This will be brush painted as I have no equipment or experience with spraying.

Thanks
Rick

Rwe2156

DrBob
Senior User
Plywood for cabinet. Sandeply and birch paint well.
Soft maple for face frames, door frames, maybe shelves.

Define what "mostly painted" means, and maybe provide a sketch.

Rick_B

Rick
Corporate Member
Plywood for cabinet. Sandeply and birch paint well.
Soft maple for face frames, door frames, maybe shelves.

Define what "mostly painted" means, and maybe provide a sketch.
Thanks for the opinions so far. Sorry no sketch available - still in the "what does she want" stage. :) It will be fully painted except forthe lower cabinet top

Riock

Oka

Casey
Corporate Member
Soft maple or Poplar both paint nicely. You can seal it with thinned downed shellac (1lb cut) which will make the paint laydown nicely, or not depends on the quality/consistency of the wood you get.

wbarnes

Will
Corporate Member
I would use soft maple if able. Poplar would be a second option if you can’t find soft maple locally.

I would also consider investing in a cheap spray system. Even without any experience you would be able to apply a much nicer looking finish with a <$200 Wagner Flexio sprayer from a box store. No compressor required. Just my opinion.

Melinapex

Mark
Corporate Member
What Berta said. I always use poplar for painted projects.....plus I just cannot bring myself to put paint on maple.....

Willemjm

Willem
Corporate Member
If you don’t take Phil’s kind offer, just a note.

The industry standard here in the US for painted cabinets is Soft Maple, which is harvested either from Red Maple or Big Leaf Maple trees. Hard Maple is from the Sugar Maple tree.