Planer: how to clean buildup?

wwian

New User
Ian Worthington
Hey Folks!

I just scored a DW735 planer off craigslist and am giving it some TLC and cleaning. I've removed the blades and found that there was a tremendous amount of resin/ sap. The guy said he only used soft pine in it. But, I'm not so sure. I've tried scraping as much off as I can but I can't get the last bits off. Do any of you have suggestions on how to clean this? Thank you for any wisdoms! (I'm new to woodworking. So, I don't have my list of tips, tricks, and methods down yet.)

McRabbet

Rob
Corporate Member
I'd put some sheet plastic across the bed to catch the gunk and attack the resin with mineral spirits and a stiff brush. Should do the job. Check the blades for nicks and replace if needed (you can get them at Lowe's or online).

zdorsch

Zach
Corporate Member
Scraping with something or blade and bit cleaner. I’ll confess to resorting to carefully using a small screw driver with tough build up.

Rick M

New User
Rick
Citrus degreaser like zep or the generic kind that home Depot sells should take that resin off in about a minute or two just spray and soak. Be careful though because it will take off paint if you leave it on too long.

JimD

Jim
Senior User
I use CMT's blade cleaner for my table saw blades. It comes in a squirt bottle and is fairly aggressive on this sort of gunk. I use a toothbrush too. I used to use a brass bristle brush but haven't been able to locate it recently.

I don't know anything about your planner but my old Ryobi AP-10 has blades which can be fairly easily sharpened. That process would also take off any gunk.

wwian

New User
Ian Worthington
Hey Fellas!