Honing stone question

Status
Not open for further replies.

lwhughes149

New User
Lorraine
I have a honing stone that measures about 3 x 7. I have been using it for my chisels for several years. I don't remember where I got it but I now wonder do I put oil on it for application or water? Does it matter or can I use it without either oil or water. It probably came from Lowes.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
You can test it by dropping a few drops of water on it. If the water stands up in little balls it is an oil stone. If the water quickly soaks in then it is a water stone.

Using the correct lubrication allows the little bits of ground off metal to float away from the stone instead of being trapped in it. It also prevents premature and/or uneven wear.

If it is an oil stone (most likely) then use a little light machine oil like 3-in-One or some mineral oil like you get at the drug store.

I say most likely because most of the big box stores carry low cost oil stones.

If you paid more than $50 for a 3x7 inch stone it may be diamond in which case you don't have to use any lubrication on it. Clean it with soapy water each time after you use it then dry it before you put it away.

BSHuff

New User
Brian
For the most part any sharpening stone from Lowes/Home Depot=Oil Stone. That is unless it is a diamond plate, but those don't look like stones.

I use olive oil or canola on my oil stones. I will use them to sharpen my kitchen knives, so I prefer that on my knives to who knows what is in the 3-in-one or other petro-oils. I just dry the stone after I am done to get the excess off.

bluedawg76

New User
Sam
+1 for the mineral oil i.e. the kind for a baby's bottom. may be a little better for your skin/ health than a petrol-based oil.

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
+1 for the mineral oil i.e. the kind for a baby's bottom. may be a little better for your skin/ health than a petrol-based oil.